A couple of days ago MsLollipop came home from school, uterly and totally disgusted. 
She looked pale and couldn't hide the fact she had an upset stomach.

I knew immediately what had happened.

The PE teacher had shown the class a movie "Supersize me" where a guy takes a challenge to eat only McDonalds food for 30 days.

Now, I like a McDonalds every now and then. And allthough I say that, I know I am disappointed every time as well. 
Every time McDonalds seduces me into a quick and easy meal, it starts with anticipation. I can smell the fries, I can taste the pickles.
The first bite is delicious, the first fries are wonderfull. And then it happens, I am full after two bites. No more. 
I try to finish the meal but can hardly finish my burger, forget even the fries (or vice versa) and I feel so bloated for the rest of the day I tell myself 'never again'. And I won't .. untill the next time. 

I forgot to ask MsLollipop why a PE teacher would decide to show a movie about McDonalds, instead of having the kids doing 'Physical Exercise". 

I just presume now it was raining so hard the grassland behind the school was a complete mudpool and there was really no other possibility than showing this movie ... really.

I mean, you cannot ask them to run around in the big assembly hall, can you. Or have dodge ball there, or skipping a rope, or playing tag. 

Maybe the 'E' of Education needed a bit more emphasis and as these 9-10year olds are really at an influential age, this movie seemed like a good idea. 

I have found a 7 min synopsis , but MsLollipops class saw a full version of it. 

The vomitting in the car after he ate the "quarter pounder and cheese" ? MsLollipop saw the 'real' vomit!

MsLollipop has an amazing memory for visual input. 
At age 5, we could not beat her anymore at the "memory" game. 
It was so frustrating. She would hop around the cards, stand on her head, hang upside down on the couch, move from one side to another. 
Meanwhile MrGuzzi and I were staying firmly in the same place determined to memorize the bloody cards, because we would win this time!!
We did always win a few rounds, 2 - 3 maybe.
And then it happened, MsLollipop would get up, focus and flick flick, flip flop.
One by one she would get the pairs out until the whole game was over. MrGuzzi 2, Mummy 2, Ms Lollipop 11. 

So imagine what effect this movie has on her imagionation ... just imagine, 
She remembers every single detail ... every ... little ... single .... detail. 

She cannot walk past a McDonalds now without feeling sick.
We have to pass by one almost every day.
Cut onions, mustard, pickles, a bun ... it all reminds her of the movie and , of course, the vomit. 
The fact the guy ruinied his liver,and 'nearly' died, mum!!

We have upset stomachs every day now, and we do not want to go to McDonalds anymore.

I cannot say I am totally unhappy with that fact,
But still, the remedy was a bit , well , let's say a bit harsh...

And then we found another McDonalds-movie on the big world web.
An attempt to answer the question "Why does your burgers never look as good as the advertised ones".

MsLollipop and me watched it together.
I love the way they stress the ingredients are the original ones!

MsLollipop looked at me at the end and said: "You remember the vomit mummy, eeeueuuuww!!!"
and we had another upset stomach once again.

Enjoy your dinner tonight,
Evelyn



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Evelyn Mertens

    I am - in no particular order and  changeable at a split second any time of the day - a daughter, a mother, a friend, a wife, a sister. 
    I am however always... in my mind ... a writer. 


    Join me on my discovery of the world. I have been traveling and living in 5 different countries the last 12 years. Let me share my adventures. 

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Follow me

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012