When it comes to introducing myself I usually face a huge writer's block.
I get nervous.

The facts are: My name is Evelyn, a name chosen by my sweet parents because my mum used to babysit a little french girl named "Evelyne". 

Apparently the girl was a bit of a difficult one to babysit, so when I was born she dropped the "e" at the end.
I am not sure if that made me an easier child.

I like my name.

I am married for 15 yrs. Yes, to the same man. 

I have a 9yr old daughter and a rescued streetdog called "Jazz".

 "We" are an expat family. 


We have lived in Casablanca, Paris, Bucharest and Moscow. 

Currently we live in Singapore. I love it. It's by far the easiest place I ever have been located to. 

I am not sure how this website/blog will evolve.
I used to write a newsletter in Dutch, as that is my mother tongue, just to keep family and friends in Belgium (that's where I come from) informed about our adventures abroad. It was superb reading for the private room, so I heard.

This blog has the same intent, except maybe for the private room part. Well, unless you have wifi ... sorry, I am drifting.

You will notice I drift ... a lot!
This blog is to write about my daily adventures, my tips and trics, our wonders and achievements.
Please visit me once in a while, and leave a trail, a message, a comment, so I know somebody is reading this stuff.
I like my writings to be read, and I like to have feedback, especially if it is a positive feedback. 

Enough introduction, real blog can start! 
I am ready... will you follow me?

A new adventure can only start with one thing: Champagne!
I love champagne.

Cheers
Evelyn



Picture
Sofie
26/3/2012 04:53:04 pm

hej Evelyn!
Congrats with your blog, looking forward to read about your adventures,
Sofie

Reply
suzanne fol
26/3/2012 05:11:36 pm

Thanks Evelyn, did not realise you were a writer or that you lived in Bucharest..so did we.. must catch up about that sometime. Good luck.

Reply
Evelyn
30/3/2012 03:55:31 pm

Hi Suzanne, we must certainly do that! When were you in Bucharest? Were we not mutual friends with Kamilla?

Reply
Carola
26/3/2012 05:49:08 pm

Hi Evelyn! What a great idea! I am looking forward to read your blog now! And Yes I do love Champansky aswell!! good luck with your new adventure! C.

Reply
26/3/2012 07:16:15 pm

Wonderful bravo Evelyn ! I will enjoy following your blog...they are addictive to both read wnd write :-)

Reply
Birgit
26/3/2012 07:27:40 pm

Hallo Evelyn.

Nu ben ik eindelijk zeker dat ik de laatste "e" mag laten vallen en waarom dat dan ook zo is.

Natuurlijk ben ik van plan je hier regelmatig te bezoeken. Je bent een schrijfster van nature uit, dus ik kijk al vol spanning uit naar de volgende episodes.

PS
ook ik hou wel van champagne en de foto brengt een paar herinneringen terug.

Reply
Nicole
26/3/2012 08:42:33 pm

Hi Evelyn,
Great to read your blog! Congratulations! Cchchchhcaaampaagne!
X

Reply
Coco
26/3/2012 08:53:53 pm

Fantastisch. Eindelijk is ie "live" er en kunnen we mee genieten van jullie aventuren.
CHAMPiiiiiiii !!!! (Mooie foto !)

Reply
Karen
26/3/2012 10:29:30 pm

Waw Evelyn, knap! Leuk geschreven en wat humor erin, echt super! Kijk al uit naar je volgende verhaal! kx

Reply
Evelyn
30/3/2012 03:56:58 pm

Thank you all, if anyone needs a glass ... you know where to find me.
A bear hug and a butterfly kiss from me :-))

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Evelyn Mertens

    I am - in no particular order and  changeable at a split second any time of the day - a daughter, a mother, a friend, a wife, a sister. 
    I am however always... in my mind ... a writer. 


    Join me on my discovery of the world. I have been traveling and living in 5 different countries the last 12 years. Let me share my adventures. 

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Follow me

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012