I still remember when it happened.

Ms Lollipop came home from school one day, as usual. 
Well, I could tell something was going one, as she actually jumped off the school bus, which , I must admit, was a bit surprising. 

I was immediately informed:

"Mummy, mummy, you know, we have a new girl on the bus!"
"Can we have a playdate?"
"Mummy, mummy, she is in my year, but not in my class!"
"Can we please  have a playdate?"
"Mummy, mummy, she is from Ireland but also speaks Dutch!"
"Can we have a playdate, pleeeeeeeaase mummyyyyyy???"

And that is how MissyM came into our lives, and changed the word 'friendship' for my girl forever.

At school, wearing their uniform, teachers mixed them up.

They have the same height , alltough maybe Ms Lollipop might be 2 cm taller, as I allow her to sit in the car without a booster seat. You need to be 140 cm in Belgium to be allowed to sit in the car without a booster seat. Ms Lollipop qualifies, MissyM is 'nearly there but not yet' . 

They weigh about the same, according to my brother Mr2m. They love to tease him! So he picks up one of each under his arm and carries them around. So, he should know .

They both laugh when one trips over shoelaces or the other one drops her fork. 

They scream and run when Mr2m treatens to chase them.

They giggle in unison over whispered secrets, hidden under their blankets.

They like spaghetti and pizza, strawberries and ice cream.

they became friends 'forever'!

'How long is forever, mummy?'
'well, forever means ... for ever and ever and ever!'
'you mean like infinity?'
'yes, sweety, like infinity'
'that is really really long!'
'yes, it is, sweetheart'
'Do you really think we will be friends forever?'
'you never know, but if you are true friends, you might be ..."
'how do I know that we are true friends?'
'well, when you still like to be together after a long time '
...
' I think we are true friends , mummy,  forever ...'

MissyM  lives in Holland now, that is about 10.422km from Singapore.
Together with her mummy (who just happens to be my BFF as well...) we try to make it work, for us, and for the girls.
we arrange sleepovers, drive hours to pick up or drop off (and meanwhile enjoy  each others company as well..:-))
and organize ways to spend some time together. 

Today , we said goodbye to MissyM after a 3day long sleepover festivity.
It was such a fun to have MissyM over for a visit!
My little girl soaked up the attention and loved to have her friend over, to show her around and to play endless games.

Today they had to say goodbye again, for another 10weeks before summer holiday. 
Saying goodbye is always difficult, but with MissyM my little girl knows it is 'until next time!'

Thank you MissyM for showing Ms Lollipop that friendship can stand the test of time and location, even for 9 year old girls!
Please tell your mummy the same ... 

I love you!

Evelyn







Missy M
20/4/2012 04:21:43 am

lieve Evelyn,
ik vond het leuk om te horen en ik moest erg lachen en er bijna van huilen. Wat was het fijn bij jullie! Zeg je MsLollipop dat ik heel veel van haar hou!!
dikke knuffel
Missy M

Reply
Evelyn
20/4/2012 02:05:14 pm

Lieve MissyM, ik heb de boodschap doorgegeven! Vele lieve knuffels van ons!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Evelyn Mertens

    I am - in no particular order and  changeable at a split second any time of the day - a daughter, a mother, a friend, a wife, a sister. 
    I am however always... in my mind ... a writer. 


    Join me on my discovery of the world. I have been traveling and living in 5 different countries the last 12 years. Let me share my adventures. 

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Follow me

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012