When I take the bus in Singapore there are some things that always catch my eye.
First is the amount of phones and headphones. The whole bus is scrolling, listening to music or playing a game. Maybe sending a txt or an email. It is all non-verbal and thus it is very quiet on a bus in Singapore.

Then a group of teenagers enters the bus. 
You would suspect some noise here. Some sillyness and laughter, some pushing. 
Not in Singapore. The youth -in general- behaves so well it is almost scary. 
I certainly have different memories of me being a teenager... 
They are very busy with their phones and headsets as well, I hardly hear them talk. 
They are loaded with books.
They behave well, paying for their ride, giving up seats to the elderly. 
They all wear a uniform. They all wear glasses. 

Singapore is a meritocratic state. 

Meritocracy, in the first, most administrative sense, is a system of government or other administration wherein appointments and responsibilities are objectively assigned to individuals based upon their "merits", namely intelligence, credentials, and education,determined through evaluations or examinations.

After the daily school routine the Singaporean children go 'en masse' to enrichment courses.
As in - school after school, private tutoring, extra lessons...
Usually Chinese , English , maths and science. 
I don't think they play a lot. 

Hence the outburst of myopia amongst the population. 

I have never seen so many children with glasses. 

MrGuzzi showed me an article the other day about the link between playing outside and nearsightedness. In short it states that outdoor play might reduce or slow down nearsightedness in children. It probably works the other way as well. The less you play outside in bright sunllight, the more the nearsightedness might progress. That, and a good portion of genetics as well, probably. The business is thriving, you see 'glasses shops' everywhere.

Another thriving business is the enrichment courses.
They  are everywhere. Every corner, every street. 

Singapore is a meritocratic state, and the enrichment courses are big businesses.

They openly advertise with the results of the children that attended their class. 
even on the bus ...
Imagine having your child's school results on the back of the bus ...

MsLollipop had a day off today - she spent the whole day playing outside, getting dirty and tired.
No bus for her today.

Love to all of you
Evelyn

fozzy
7/5/2012 12:42:41 am

genetics: asian eyeball is stretched sideways a bid more then normal, hence a lot more near sigthed people, african eyeballs are a bid more flat is the depth of the eyeball, hence more farsigthed people then normal. But it is so, that more and more studies try to see a connection between less outdoor sunsine/life and bad eyesight.

Reply
Evelyn
7/5/2012 11:33:55 am

Hi Fozzy! Thanks for this explanation, I already had a feeling genetics must have something to do with the fact so many people wear glasses/contacts in Singapore. On the other hand, if you turn it around, it means nearsighted people (as myself...) have eyeballs stretched sideways, just like the asian people. Maybe that explains why I feel so good in Asia ... :-))

Reply
13/7/2012 09:29:46 pm

I must say, this is a nicely written blog full of emotions.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Evelyn Mertens

    I am - in no particular order and  changeable at a split second any time of the day - a daughter, a mother, a friend, a wife, a sister. 
    I am however always... in my mind ... a writer. 


    Join me on my discovery of the world. I have been traveling and living in 5 different countries the last 12 years. Let me share my adventures. 

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Follow me

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012