Hi all!

I am back!

Have a look at my 'view'.  This is what I see every day from my appartement in Antwerp. It made me realize we have lived in big cities all our expat lives. Ms Lollipop is a city girl, as I am a country girl. 

Our house in Casablance was a white 2-storey square house, with an inside patio where our bedroom windows could open to.
It had a garden, a hibiscus fence and we could chase our dog Osker around the house.  We had nice neighbours ...
I loved this house!
of course Ms Lollipop was not in the picture when we lived in this house!

In Paris we had a one-level house, with carboard walls, low ceilings and a lot of dark small rooms. 
We were not really fond of this house.
But ... it had a garden, and it is the house where we went from just 2 to a family of 3.
Ms Lollipop made her first steps in the garden of this house!

In Bucharest we had a huge house with an extraordinary architecture and an even bigger garden.
The living room was like half an oval-shaped and I remember so well how Ms Lollipop rode around this living room on her small bicycle. Our neighbours were the army though, but that's another story ... I will tell you one day.
Ms Lollipop remembers she turned 4 in this house. 

In Moscow we moved twice. First house was a 3 story small house with more stairs than rooms. The second house was -again- on one level, in wood and in a forest. Neither of them had a private garden, but a 'shared' one. Moscow is the city where I learned the meaning of 'compound'. Both of them had amazing neighbours!! They moved with us from house n1 to house n2 - I miss them!!
Ms Lollipop remembers I almost set on fire house nr1 - and she got several tick bites from roaming the forest at house nr2. 

In Singapore we have -and again- a house on one level, with a garden...and -finally- a swimming pool. 
We were so lucky to find this house, so close to the school. 
It is walking distance!! Something we could only dream about when we lived in Moscow. 
Ms Lollipop enjoys the swimming pool every single day. 

As I obviously tried pathetically hard to keep a green input in our lives, 
I would definitely not say Ms Lollipop is a country girl.
She is a true and true city girl, born and raised.

But when she stays at the grandparents, she is transformed into some bohemian's daughter.
She vanishes into the garden and woods , and returns with twigs in her hair and dirt on her hands and face.
Her eyes twinkle and her cheeks glow, and she is very proud to show me her masterpieces.






Picture
This is the one at grandpa and grandma's house. It is quite professionally built, with a decent roof and walls. Grandpa had to give a helping hand though, as it involved nails and screws, saws and a hammer. 

Note the 'garden' in front of the house ...

sadly grandma's sheep have eaten the freshly planted flowers yesterday.


Picture
This is the one Ms Lollipop built at my parents house. This one is completely self constructed. I watched her walking around for ages in the woods , collecting branches and leaves to build this. She was very very busy that day, and very very happy.






This one has 'a fantastic view'! 

It reminds me of my childhood.
I used to build the same camps and roam around the same woods.

I know exactly how she felt when she took this picture: completely content and happy with a job well done!

I love this view!

and
I love this child! 

What about you? Do you see childhood memories back in your children?

Xxx
Evelyn
Mariette Rees
5/4/2012 04:33:15 pm

Hee! Wat leuk die blog. Die van mij zou zeer monotoom zijn...sneeuw, ijs, ijs sneeuw... Ha ha! Snak naar de lente. Liefs uit The Big Potato.

Reply
Alix Reyntjens
5/4/2012 09:22:52 pm

heel fijn altijd om te lezen Evelyn. Het geeft me een idee van jullie leven, het doet me dikwijls lachen en doet me mijmeren... ook een eind weg van thuis, ook een kleine ukkepuk die haar ervaringen opdoet ;-) Dikke zoen.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Evelyn Mertens

    I am - in no particular order and  changeable at a split second any time of the day - a daughter, a mother, a friend, a wife, a sister. 
    I am however always... in my mind ... a writer. 


    Join me on my discovery of the world. I have been traveling and living in 5 different countries the last 12 years. Let me share my adventures. 

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Follow me

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012