We are back! We are home! 

Ms Lollipop and me spent 3 weeks in Belgium. 
We loved every minute of it,catching up with family and friends, eating (too much) easter chocolate eggs...

We did not love the weather!
It was cold, windy and rainy. The dry Belgian air transformed my skin into very itchy, flaky wrinkled papyrus-like skin no matter how much lotion I provided. I never really unpacked the t-shirts and the skirts, instead I searched my way through storage boxes left overs from Moscow, in search of winter clothing!

We stepped out of the airplane and Ms Lollipop sniffed the air, grinned from ear to ear and took off her jacket.
"It is so great to be home!"

When we passed the passport control I noticed a woman sitting on the floor in front of the luggage belt. Next to her was a small child, a little girl about 2-3 years old. They were both in tears and clearly upset. 

I asked if she needed any help.

The woman tells me a rather incoherent story. Something had happened at immigration, causing the little girl to be upset and now the little girl did not want to walk, causing a major tantrum and wanting nothing else but sit on the ground. The woman clearly did not know what to do with this situation. 

My heart went out to her. I could understand how hard it can be traveling with little children. Especially when they are between 2 and 4 years old, when they seem to be doing the opposite of what you would like them to do and are using the word "no" with a force and an intensity it makes you scared. We've all been there, right? 
I suggest to her to just pick her up and go. It seemed, to me, the most logic thing to do. I think all mothers (most mothers) would just strap her in the stroller and get going. Yes, you can scream honey. But you are safe, and we are moving. 

She told me it was a bad child. The little girl clinged to her. The woman pushed her away.
This felt wrong. 

The way they interacted made me wonder if she was the mother, or maybe she was the helper. 
There was no luggage, and no stroller. Just the two of them in front of the belt.
The world watching but not interfering.

I offered a packet of gummy bears. But the little girl was too upset to accept anything, and was just crying.

Ms Lollipop called out to me, our bags were on the belt. 
I left the woman and her little girl and went in search of our luggage.

Was it 10 min later we turned around to head out? 

We saw the woman running towards the exit. She had taken her shoes off and was running barefooted. The little girl was running behind her, screaming, arms stretched out, tears rolling down her cheeks. She tripped and fell to the ground. She vomits. She screams. She cries. 
The woman does not look back and keeps running until she is at the other side of the glass paned windows and exit. 
As in, you cannot get back in.

The traveling world ignored the whole scene. I saw businessmen, families with children, couples old and young snatch their luggage, looking at the girl and quickening their pace to get out. 

Ms Lollipop and I sat down and tried to calm down the little girl. I looked for her mother. She must be in a state of terror now, at the other side of the exit. Maybe I should just pick the little girl up in my arms and go out to her mother. Would the authorities let me pass? Maybe she will calm down and hold my hand so we can walk out together?  Where was she?

She wasn't there. I was searching in vain. She vanished. 

Here we were, on the ground of Changi airport, the cleanest airport of the world, sitting in a pool of vomit and tears, with a screaming 2-year old girl who was not mine and without a mother in sight. 

I did't know what to do, really ...
This felt very wrong. 

Until I finally see her. She reappears from behind a pillar and is looking angrily in our direction. Back straight, arms crossed.

Airport staff approaches us. I explain, this is not my child, and point out the mother at the other side of the windows. They go out to talk to her, as clearly the child refuses to walk on her own. We sit with her, we stroke her back which seems to calm her down. We try to talk but get no reaction. Does she even speak English? Her eyes are locked with her mother's who ignores the airport staff. The mother refuses to come back in. 
This is a battle of characters!

The airport staff decide they will carry out the little girl to reunite her with her mother. I think that is a good plan...

As soon as one of them tries to pick her up, she starts to kick and scream again. I can't help wondering. Wouldn't you if you would be picked up by some complete strangers? One of the airport staff takes hold of her arms, the other takes hold of her legs. Like a convict this little 2 year old is carried out between them, they are laughing, the girl is screaming, vomiting, kicking and biting. 

The world is watching, filming and taking pictures.

The mother has disappeared again and an older couple (the grandparents ?) 'collect' the bundle of revolt. The girl vomits over grandmother's silky burgundy dress. The grandfather raises his hands and treathens to slap her. 
They are shouting at her: you are a bad girl, you stupid child, you stop now, you insult us...

Everybody is looking now, and I don't know what to do anymore.
I try to tell the airport staff that this is not her mother. This is not the person I saw with the girl.
They are not sure either, they want to get this over with as soon as possible. The vomit is already cleared away, please can this child go away as well. 

There comes a point when your help is not appreciated anymore, when you feel you interfere with family matters that are not your business. Maybe cultural difference play as well and your helping is not appropriate. 

But still, this is a 2-year old child...
I hesitate and linger around. I don't know what to do, but if feels so wrong to leave her like this. 

The mother shows up again, with 2  bigger children. Everybody is shouting and screaming. 
Their body language is very clear. They do not like the little one, she is disturbing their peace. 
She is a bad girl. 

Finally they gather the luggage and head for the taxi-stand.
Ms Lollipop and me do the same.
We look back though, we can't help ourselves.
The little girl is still standing in the middle of the airport. All alone - again. Crying in silence now, but not walking. 
The family heads for the exit, they don't hold their pace, they don't look back.

Ms Lollipop is upset, and frankly so am I.

I hope she is safe. I hope someone will tuck her in and cuddle and kiss her goodnight.
I hope someone truely loves her, and will tell her how a good girl she is.

Evelyn
Xxx

 
19/4/2012 01:22:30 am

Evelyn

Dit is verschrikkelijk en anderzijds verbaast het me ook dat dit zomaar kan aan de douane. Ze moeten toch minstens gecheckt hebben wie die vrouw is en wie dat kind is. Net als jou zou ik me verscheurd voelen tussen willen helpen en niet te opdringerig zijn. Het is een andere cultuur, een ander gezin en het fijne van de situatie kennen we niet maar iedereen heeft recht op aandacht en een warme omgeving waar je je welkom voelt. Duimen in de lucht dat dit meisje weer rust, liefde en haar lach gevonden heeft.

En voor jullie, een heerlijk thuiskomen in Singapore. Telkens moet ik toch weer even glimlachen als ik me herinner hoe Lollipop opzag tegen een verhuis naar een warm land. Dat is blijkbaar gewijzigd.

Tot in de zomer, enfin, onze Belgische zomer met hopelijk een beetje aangenamere Singaporese temperaturen maar dan zonder het bijhorende vochtigheidsgehalte.

Reply
Alexandra
19/4/2012 04:56:32 pm

Dit is verschrikkelijk. Ik hoop zo dat het goed komt met dat meisje...

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Evelyn Mertens

    I am - in no particular order and  changeable at a split second any time of the day - a daughter, a mother, a friend, a wife, a sister. 
    I am however always... in my mind ... a writer. 


    Join me on my discovery of the world. I have been traveling and living in 5 different countries the last 12 years. Let me share my adventures. 

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Follow me

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012